Tribute to Touch

Before I started university, I used to ride a great gentle mare named Touch. She was an Irish Sport Horse (a cross between an Irish Draught and a Thoroughbred or Warmblood breed). 


She had the most gorgeous large head with a convex profile, and she could be as stubborn as a mule when it came to jumping (she *much* preferred dressage). 


But nevertheless she was my absolute favourite mount. And to this day I still feel a little sad that I don’t get to ride her anymore. 


For a long time I have wanted a resin or custom model horse painted like her, but could never seem to find the right model to represent her. Until…a Branston resin popped up!

Photo by sculptor Eva Rossiter


I found an ad on MH$P which listed 2 copies of Branston. I immediately contacted Eva (the sculptor) if they were still available. Unfortunately she said they were both sold, but she graciously offered me another copy. It was a ‘second’ because he had a broken leg and very many pin holes, but I was absolutely delighted I could purchase him! 

Photo by sculptor Eva Rossiter


I will repair my copy and customize it into a ‘her’ πŸ™‚ And then I’ll paint her as a portrait of Touch. 


Here is the cute little certificate I received from Eva. My Branston is number 16/20. 

I don’t think I’ll have her ready for the show the 19th, but who knows πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

